Toucan Blog Banner
WonderCon 2023

More WonderCon Guests Revealed!

In addition to the four guests previously revealed, WonderCon will be welcoming these top creators to the 2023 show, with more announcements to come!

WonderCon 2023 Special Guest: Mark Evanier

Mark Evanier attended his first San Diego Comic-Con in 1970 and has been to every one of these annual events ever since. He was then an assistant to the great Jack Kirby, whom he wrote about in his book Kirby, King of Comics. Mark has also written for live-action TV shows, animated TV shows (including various Garfield cartoons) and tons of comic books. The comics include working with Sergio Aragonés for 40 years on Groo the Wanderer, and many more.  He is also a historian of comic books and animation.

WonderCon 2023 Special Guest: Daniel Warren Johnson

[Photo by Michael Watson]


Daniel Warren Johnson is a Chicago-based comic book writer, artist, and illustrator with clients including Image, DC, Marvel, Wizards of the Coast, and many others. His creator-owned title Extremity was met with popular and critical acclaim, netting him an Eisner Award nomination for Best Limited Series. His other works includes Do a Powerbomb, Beta Ray Bill, Murder Falcon, and Wonder Woman: Dead Earth.

WonderCon 2023 Special Guest: Annalee Newitz

[Photo by Sarah Deragon]


Annalee Newitz  is an American journalist, editor, and author of fiction and nonfiction. They are the recipient of a Knight Science Journalism Fellowship from MIT and have written for Popular Science, The New Yorker, and the Washington Post. They founded the science fiction website io9 and served as editor-in-chief from 2008 to 2015, then became editor-in-chief at Gizmodo and tech culture editor at Ars Technica. Their book Scatter, Adapt, and Remember: How Humans Will Survive a Mass Extinction was nominated for the LA Times Book Prize in science. Their first novel, Autonomous, won a Lambda award. 

WonderCon 2023 Special Guest: David Sylvian

[Photo by David Sylvian]


James Rollins is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sigma Force series: Sandstorm, Map of Bones, Black Order, The Judas Strain, The Last Oracle, The Doomsday Key, The Devil Colony, Bloodline, The Eye of God, The 6th Extinction, The Seventh Plague, The Demon Crown, Cruciblek, The Last Odyssey; six individual adventure thrillers; the blockbuster movie novelization Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull; the Tucker Wayne series; the Order of the Sanguines series; the Jake Ransom middle-grade series; and a new series, Moonfall Saga. The 16th Sigma Force adventure, Kingdom of Bones, debuts April 19.


Remember to bookmark Toucan and the WonderCon Front Page to get the very latest in OFFICIAL WonderCon 2023 news. To purchase your WonderCon 2023 badges, click here!