Toucan Blog Banner
WonderCon 2022

WonderCon Guests Sneak Peek!

WonderCon is currently in the process of confirming its roster of guests, but we couldn’t wait to share a sneak peek of five who will be appearing:


Shannon Hale

Shannon Hale is the New York Times bestselling author of over 40 books for emerging readers, kids, teens, and adults, including Newbery Honor–winner Princess Academy; graphic novel memoirs Real Friends, Best Friends, and Friends Forever (with LeUyen Pham); and Austenland (also a major motion picture starring Keri Russell). With her husband Dean, she created the Eisner-nominated graphic novel Rapunzel’s Revenge (with art by Nathan Hale) and bestselling chapter book series The Princess in Black (with LeUyen Pham). For DC’s line of graphic novels for young readers, they created Diana: Princess of the Amazons (with Victoria Ying) and Amethyst, Princess of Gemworld (with Asiah Fulmore).


David A. Robertson 

David A. Robertson is the author of numerous books and graphic novels for young readers, including When We Were Alone, which won Canada’s 2017 Governor General's Literary Award; On the Trapline, which won the 2021 Governor General’s Literary Award; The Barren Grounds, the first book in a middle-grade fantasy series; and the graphic novel series The Reckoner Rises, about an Indigenous superhero with mental health struggles. Dave is a member of Norway House Cree Nation and currently lives in Winnipeg.


James Rollins

Photo credit: David Sylvian


James Rollins is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sigma Force series: Sandstorm, Map of Bones, Black Order, The Judas Strain, The Last Oracle, The Doomsday Key, The Devil Colony, Bloodline, The Eye of God, The 6th Extinction, The Seventh Plague, The Demon Crown, Cruciblek, The Last Odyssey; six individual adventure thrillers; the blockbuster movie novelization Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull; the Tucker Wayne series; the Order of the Sanguines series; the Jake Ransom middle-grade series; and a new series, Moonfall Saga. The 16th Sigma Force adventure, Kingdom of Bones, debuts April 19.


Trung Le Nguyen

Trung Le Capecchi-Nguyen (Trung Le Nguyen, professionally) is a Vietnamese-American comic book artist and writer from Minnesota. His debut graphic novel, The Magic Fish, was published in 2020 through Random House Graphic. It won two Harvey Awards, and Trung was nominated for a 2021 Eisner in the Best Writer/Artist category. He has also contributed work for DC Comics, Oni Press, Boom! Studios, and Image Comics.


Skottie Young

Skottie Young got his start at Marvel on titles like Spider-Man: Legend of the Spider Clan, Human Torch, and Venom. He soon began adapting the L. Frank Baum Oz novels at Marvel with writer Eric Shanower, garnering four Eisner Awards along the way. Other projects included writing and drawing the hit series Rocket Raccoon and illustrating the children's book Fortunately, The Milk by Neil Gaiman. He then created, wrote, and drew the series I Hate Fairyland at Image. Skottie followed that with co-creating and writing Middlewest with artist Jorge Corona and Bully Wars with artist Aaron Conley. His most recent series are Strange Academy, with artist Humberto Ramos, and The Me You Love in the Dark, with Corona.